With draws in the other two matches, Queensland’s remarkable win over Tasmania will prove as valuable as ever.

With six rounds done, the states will break-up and it’s onto the BBL for most of the domestic players.

Victoria 9-424d & 5-208d drew with Western Australia 296 & 6-214

As the Australian side called up three of its top-order batsmen, the Victorian line-up looked very different as it won the toss and batted.

However former Test player, Nic Maddinson, on debut for Victoria, slammed a memorable 162 against the Warriors, his ninth first-class century.

Young gun Will Pucovski returned with scores of one and 67 in a successful comeback from mental health issues.

Cameron White too proved class is permanent with a 119 after his recall, his 22nd first-class ton.

Only Ashton Turner (80), who was relieved of the captaincy with Mitch Marsh’s return, could pass 50 in the first innings for Western Australia, who were bowled out 128 runs behind.

Test spinner Jon Holland finally had an impact this season, picking up 5-65 from 38.3 overs.

The second innings spelled trouble for the Vics with a Jyhe Richardson short ball breaking the arm of Nic Maddinson.

The Warriors were set 337 runs for victory and asked to survive nearly two and a half sessions of cricket.

At 5-57 the declaration looked perfectly timed, but Marcus Stoinis (85 from 130 balls) and Ashton Turner again (63 not out from 145) denied Victoria its fourth win of the year.

New South Wales 8-541d drew with South Australia 380 & 6-239

South Australia travelled to Sydney to take on a New South Wales side without four Test bowlers and its leading wicket-taker this season: Trent Copeland took a job with Channel 7 for the Test match over playing in this match.

Alex Carey took advantage hitting the second century of his career, and unbeaten 110 that took the Redbacks to 380.

There have been only two double-century partnerships in the Shield this year and they’ve both come from NSW’s opening pair of Nick Larkin and Daniel Hughes.

As you can see below, Larkin has entered the top five run-scorers of the season, definitely a break-out year for the 28-year-old.

Most of the Blues batsmen got starts, Moises Henriques got to 99 before falling to part-timer Conor McInerney, the opener’s first first-class wicket.

With a deficit of 160, South Australia was asked to face an entire day to save the match, and thanks to determined knocks from Jake Lehmann (67 from 157) and Cal Ferguson (36 from 137), they did.

Stephen O’Keefe took 4-88 in the second innings, his best return of the season.

The Redbacks remain winless and on the bottom of the ladder – with the gap to fifth growing.

Tasmania 167 & 353 defeated by Queensland 107 & 6-414 by four wickets

At match that produced 18 wickets on the opening day rarely goes the distance – let alone a record run-chase in the fourth innings.

But that’s exactly what happened in Hobart – Michael Neser and Jimmy Peirson’s unbeaten 143 run seventh-wicket stand enabled the Bulls to pull of a famous victory.

The Tigers were sent in on their home track and were cleaned up on a green wicket for 167 in 55.4 overs.

Only the in-form Matthew Wade scored over 25, with his 63 from 106 balls looking like one of the best innings of the season.

Neser (3-43) and Mark Steketee (3-35) were the chief destroyers.

But Tasmania would fight back and skittle the Bulls for just 107 – Alex Pycroft picked up his maiden five-wicket haul (5-28) and Jackson Bird chipped in with 3-40.

And then the pitch started to flatten out.

Jordan Silk and Simon Milenko got 50s and George Bailey brought up a classy hundred (109 off 202), to set Queensland what looked like an impossible 414 to win.

And even though Queensland got off to a good start with Joe Burns hitting 74 and Marnus Labuschagne 78, they were in trouble at 6-271.

But Peirson (75 off 169) was expertly supported by Neser (76 off 117), who was a deserved player of the match.

Sheffield Shield standings

Wins Draws Losses Points
Victoria 3 2 1 31.97
New South Wales 2 3 1 23.04
Queensland 2 2 2 21
Western Australia 2 2 2 20.74
Tasmania 2 1 3 19.5
South Australia 0 4 2 12.54

Leading run-scorers

Runs Average Highest score
Matthew Wade (TAS) 571 63.4 137
Marcus Harris (VIC) 501 71.6 250*
Tom Cooper (SA) 501 45.5 178
Nick Larkin (NSW) 494 49.4 175*
Joe Burns (QLD) 472 47.2 96

Leading wicket-takers

Wickets Average Best bowling
Scott Boland (VIC) 36 17.4 7-54
Chris Tremain (VIC) 28 23.6 5-13
Jhye Richardson (WA) 27 19 8-47
Jackson Bird (TAS) 27 22.7 5-35
Joe Mennie (SA) 26 17.6 5-39